On Virginia …

I dream of being able to sit down to tea with Virginia Woolf. God, to sit there with her, to get to see the passion that bubbled just below her fragile demeanor. I want to watch her streams of consciousness come to light in the moment. I want to see the flash of a smile and watch the partnership between her and Leonard even while she loved Vita and others. I want a summer on the coast and winters tucked into cottages where I do nothing but write and have to be reminded to sleep and eat. I want to write letters back and forth to close friends, race to catch the postman …

I wasn’t born into the wrong era. I know this. Life is so much better for female writers overall. But to have just a glimpse into her world … beyond the doorway her letters and journal entries and novels give me …

She isn’t why I write, but the strength of her words is so much a part of my inspiration.

About vegawriters

Writer. Metalhead. Pitbull Mom. Geek. Bisexual. Poly. Activist.

Posted on August 16, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

