It’s been a while, wordpress land.

I don’t even know who is reading and following this anymore. I’ll have to lure all of you back somehow, hoping that life as a starving writer becomes interesting again. Hopefully I’ll be able to distinguish my life from the thousands of other starving writers out there, all of us with blogs, all of us talking about our lives. Hopefully.

Because it’s been so long, and I’m hoping to bring more people in around here, let me start off by introducing myself.

My name is Shauna, although I am known on my many social networking sites as Vega or Vegawriters. Occasionally, you’ll see me as vega_voices. And yes, there is a story behind the name. When the movie Contact came out, I sat in the movie theater, enthralled with the idea that the star system could be a place where all these cultures came together. So, as a result, I like to think of the characters in my head as Vega and well, I write them. So there you go. It isn’t too hard to understand.

I like to think of myself as an activist, but I know a lot of activists who might roll their eyes  at me for saying that. I have my causes that I am passionate about: I’m a feminist who believes in complete inclusion and gets really pissed off when we as feminists systematically exclude people of color, people with disabilities, queer and trans women, etc. And yes, I believe in complete equality for all around me and in breaking down the barriers  we create in our own communities. I helped to create the 1 to 5 Club here in Salt Lake City – we work to bring about a safe, social space for the bisexual/pansexual/fluid community. Especially within the queer community as a whole. I work for the Independent Living Center here in Utah, and our whole goal is to create a culture of independence, not dependence on the medical model, for people with disabilities. Yeah, so that’s me in a nutshell.

But I mentioned writing and really, that’s why I’ve got this blog, right?

Yes. That’s what matters to me more than anything else. Writing. My focus is fiction, but I’ve been known to dabble in some review writing, interviews, and even some poetry. You can find links to some of my work on the sidebars here. I also am a passionate fanfiction writer and defender – I have done some of my best work within the structure of fandom and I don’t think “serious” writers have anything to be ashamed of when it comes to participating in fandom. In fact, I think it’s sad that legally, TV writers aren’t allowed to read fanfiction. And yes, I’d love to, at some point, work in TV. But we’ll get to those dreams at a later date.

Oh, and I’m a rabid Utah Jazz fan, Virginia Woolf is my literary hero, and I’m kind of obsessed with CSI (like, a lot.)

I hope that as I pick up this blogging project, I can provide some sense of entertainment and some sense of what it’s like to be a writer trying to make a living beyond the world of the day job. I also hope I can keep it up. I’ve tried more than a few times to do it. Hopefully, this time, it’ll stick.

Welcome to my journey. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

You can follow me on twitter: @vegawriters and on tumblr: vegawriters.tumblr.com

About vegawriters

Writer. Metalhead. Pitbull Mom. Geek. Bisexual. Poly. Activist.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m still here! Hee! And I can’t believe you did a general overview of yourself and didn’t include music!?!?

Leave a Reply

