I have been writing! (part 1)

I run two blogs (well, I run more than that but these are the ones that get mentioned on my resume) and for the last couple of weeks my brain has been focused on fandom. Can’t think why … oh .. yeah. CSI. Anyway. Just a couple of quick links over to my other blog and there will be a real update on this bi-writer and life here in SLC this weekend. 🙂

Post #1 – Tonight, I am REALLY not Defending Fandom

Oi! Okay, we are talking about something that isn’t CSI.

It might be a little bit CSI related, but not in a “please, let’s not destroy Sara any more” kind of way. Instead, this is something I’ve been thinking about for a couple of days.

The other day, I came across this twitter conversation between two people who really don’t know me from Adam. One is a writer over at CSI Files – an insider kind of blog for fans of CSI run by Shane Saunders. Shane and I have talked a few times on twitter and I’ve probably annoyed the crap out of him, but that’s neither here nor there. The other has a connection to the show.

Read More …

Post #2 – What Do The Counting Crows and CSI Have in Common?

I don’t know what it is, but ever since Forget Me Not aired, the Counting Crows have been on repeat on my playlist. There’s something about the 13th season’s depth of character within this dark TV world that seems to fit the kind of melancholy hopefulness of Adam Duritz and his band of fellows. The soft strains of songs like Round Here and Raining in Baltimore and Angels of the Silences speak volumes about life and broken hearts and eventual redemption. They also serve as a reminder that the people who write and act and produce and direct our favorite shows (and yes, this is about CSI) are as human as the characters who leap from the screen and into the hearts of the viewers who follow week to week. Yes, if you don’t think that these characters are as real as you and me and your best friend, then I don’t know what to say to you other than please keep reading. Because, when a character speaks to someone, that character becomes a friend, becomes a life saver, becomes a way to communicate with the rest of the world. Some people communicate through fan fiction, some through graphics, some through bonding together and talking. You see, there is no right or wrong way to do fandom. (There are ways to be a person, but I’ve already addressed those in other posts.)

Read More …

Keep writing!

Posted on March 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

