Today’s freewrite

I’ve been trying to do some kind of freewriting every day that connects to the universe in the novel. Sometimes it is directly related to the characters, sometimes it is a more peripheral relationship, sometimes it is directly related to the characters but won’t end up in the book. Today that freewrite gave me 4,168 words.

I am using the term “Freewrite” a little loosely in this context, but not completely incorrectly. I’m not going back and doing any editing once I start writing. I’ve had to stop a few times because I am doing it at work (mostly over lunch, for the record.) But the basic rules are applying: just write, let the words carry me, see where it goes.

Today is the first day in a while I’ve been able to really let the muses flow free and it feels good. Lately they’ve been stagnant and my freewriting feels like the root canal I really do need. But today it just happened. And it feels really good.

And … none of it will get used. 😉

About vegawriters

Writer. Metalhead. Pitbull Mom. Geek. Bisexual. Poly. Activist.

Posted on August 5, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. How’s the daily freewriting going?

Leave a Reply

