Yeah, it’s been a couple of weeks … but …

It’s been a couple of weeks since I posted, but honestly, I wasn’t sure what to write. What is there to say when you’re in the process of writing a novel other than “Hey look, there’s more writing here, more procrastinating there …” That’s the hard part with keeping a blog, you have to keep it interesting. Let’s face it – I’m not posting news of the weird or anything like that. I’m blogging about life as a queer writer. Specifically, life as a bi writer. But the thing is, the sexuality doesn’t come first for me. The writer does. That’s why you get pictures of my cats. 

To the people who have chosen to follow this blog, I want to say thank you. You’re awesome and I wish I could give you more interesting updates. The fact of the matter is, keeping my brain in a place where I can figure out how to manage all of my online stuff is a bit much and it’s a hell of a lot easier to screw around on tumblr and reblog photos of Jorja Fox than it is to sit down and write a blog post once a week. Anyone who writes understands that idea. 🙂

But here I sit on a snowy night in Salt Lake City, thinking about my characters. Thinking about the world around me and the reality of the biphobia that exists everywhere. But I’m also thinking about the human elements in my story beyond the activism that leaps from the pages – the bi characters, the sexual harassment, the conversation about the racism and misogyny in Hollywood. Because Gina isn’t bisexual first. The acting comes first for her – that’s why you get thought processes about her pit bulls. 

It’s not an “I don’t know” kind of night, but it’s a thoughtful one. I’ve got some story ideas prattling around inside the cobwebs of my brain and along the same line, I also have the desperate desire to actually keep up with this blog. To make it into something more. I’m not sure what that is, but I do know that I’m not really blogging about being a queer writer right now. That’s okay, but I think just like with me – there’s more than the pink purple and blue flag that is draped around my shoulders. 

Thanks for reading the rambling. Hopefully you’ll get something more soon. 

About vegawriters

Writer. Metalhead. Pitbull Mom. Geek. Bisexual. Poly. Activist.

Posted on November 4, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

